Posted in Health, Healthy Self Image, Nutrition, Positive Thinking, Real Beauty, Self Image

What is Real Beauty to You

ext

If you ever have said to yourself or out loud, “I’m so fat. I’m so ugly.” Or any other insult to yourself. GO RIGHT NOW, right this minute! Look in a mirror and tell yourself out loud. “I am sorry for saying those mean things to you. They are unacceptable. I am beautiful because, I am human, I have a soul, and I am spirit.” Then watch these videos attached that I love. One from the Dove Beauty Campaign puts selfies in a positive light. The other, Jean Killbourne talks about airbrushing craziness. One of my favorite quotes from this is by CINDY CRAWFORD, who says, “I WISH I LOOKED LIKE CINDY CRAWFORD.”

I don’t have statistics, but I know more than half our problem with our flawed body image is because of societies thought of “beauty”. I have witnessed plenty of friends and family growing up, and I know this has affected my own body image. I remember being a teen and sitting around with my three close friends looking at models in Vogue and actresses in teen and gossip mags, admiring them and all of us attesting, “I am going to look like that”. Then to confirm we need to look like a that supermodel we would overhear the boys or males in general (not their fault), whooping and yee-haa-ing over what they considered sexy, while they tacked posters of Paulina Porizkova or a chick laying suggestively on a 1965 Mustang Convertible, over their beds.

I specifically remember reading in a fitness magazine, which suggested as a daily motivational reminder not to eat junk and workout to hang a picture of a body I want to look like, from a magazine on the refrigerator. Great advice, except that it should have come with a warning, “MOST LIKELY, THIS IS NOT HOW THIS BODY LOOKS IN REAL LIFE”. I was not aware that all those sexy, skinny bodies with the hallowed out cheek bones were perfected with makeup, lighting, and airbrushing. And if you are a male reading this, photos of muscle ripped or toned men do not have much validity; they are just as brutally airbrushed and photo shopped. So, even though the picture suggestion was motivational, and I probably looked good, I did not think so because I was not six feet tall and I was striving to be shaped like something unattainable for my body type.

I feel we need to arm every male and female with this information. Two things I know would come to fruition. One, imagine how much more stuff we would get done and figure out if we were not obsessing over if we are fitting into a “mold”. Second, if we are in touch and balanced with what real beauty is and what is really healthy, that takes most of the pressure off and we would start down the road to being naturally slimmer, even if we have a lot of weight to lose. I am not saying thinking like this is magic weight loss secret. There is still a lot of practicing this thinking and learning how to eat and move to what is comfortable for your body, but knowing this instantly makes you feel lighter in your mind and body.

You are all beautiful. No matter what you look like or where you stand in life. Beauty to me is living in your authentic truth, being strong, brave, altruistic, and going after your dream.

What is beauty to you? Tell me in the comments.

Selfie Dove Beauty Campaign

Killing Us Softly 4 – Trailer [Featuring Jean Kilbourne]

Author:

Hello, It is so nice to meet you. I am an Institute of Integrative Nutrition (IIN) Health Coach Graduate. I am impassioned about living and teaching others to live a balanced, wholesome life. I will show you how to nourish your body with healthy food and loving thoughts. There was a time I struggled with a debauched body image. Jumping from one failing fad diet to another, thinking none of my dreams will come true because I did not fit in a size 2. It really bugs the heck out of me knowing others also think like this and like me have probably wasted so much time worrying how others or how we viewed, say our butt. Instead we should have been freely relishing in fun or soaking in essential happenings, getting the most out of life. I want to strongly convey from here and beyond what real beautiful body image is. There are a few aspects to this. One is to show you how to keep a fantastic figure by adding real satisfying delicious nutritious foods to your diet that will have you glowing from the inside out. Also, but not any less important are, I want to clarify how these foundations support a well balanced self: finding and participating in fun fitting active activities, having loving communicative relationships, enjoying a harmonious career, comforting spirituality, enticing hobbies, etc.

Leave a Reply

