Posted in Health Coach

Why Does Coaching Work?

If you want to know a deeper explanation of how a health coach can help you reach your health, weight, and overall wellness goals. Read this… I found this little treasure of an analogy from a blog by Brooke Castillo, The Life Coach School, June 2 2011

Why Does Coaching Work?

Is the coach of the Lakers (I think his name is Phil Jackson) a better basketball player than Kobe?

Why is he able to coach Kobe?

One student replied:

I asked my husband and he gave a brilliant answer that I believe is true.

He said, immediately, “Kobe’s in the game. Phil Jackson is outside of the game. Kobe is too caught up in the game to coach himself. The coach shows him when he’s not following the game plan or missing something. It might just be something Kobe Bryant doesn’t see at all and the coach can say, ‘Look – think about this or think about that.You need to get in the game plan.’ Being on the outside is a valuable vantage point. That’s why coaches walk up and down and look around the court or the field. It’s not always easy to see what’s going on. You can’t play your best game unless you know what’s going on between you and your opponent.”

In coaching, the opponent is our peanut brain. We are our opponent because we are fighting with ourselves. The coach helps you understand that. The coach helps you understand yourself because they observe you.

Wow. I already know the definition of Health Coach, but that just hit me in the head, like a big AHA moment.
Thank you Brooke for the posting this simile. It’s so much clearer to me now. And I love it. I love to observe.

Check out my website, Lynne Campanaro, Health and Wellness Coach for more information. 

So long for now, my friends 🙂

Author:

Hello, It is so nice to meet you. I am an Institute of Integrative Nutrition (IIN) Health Coach Graduate. I am impassioned about living and teaching others to live a balanced, wholesome life. I will show you how to nourish your body with healthy food and loving thoughts. There was a time I struggled with a debauched body image. Jumping from one failing fad diet to another, thinking none of my dreams will come true because I did not fit in a size 2. It really bugs the heck out of me knowing others also think like this and like me have probably wasted so much time worrying how others or how we viewed, say our butt. Instead we should have been freely relishing in fun or soaking in essential happenings, getting the most out of life. I want to strongly convey from here and beyond what real beautiful body image is. There are a few aspects to this. One is to show you how to keep a fantastic figure by adding real satisfying delicious nutritious foods to your diet that will have you glowing from the inside out. Also, but not any less important are, I want to clarify how these foundations support a well balanced self: finding and participating in fun fitting active activities, having loving communicative relationships, enjoying a harmonious career, comforting spirituality, enticing hobbies, etc.

Leave a Reply

